Blues Scale

A minor pentatonic scale with an added b5

Sam Blakelock avatar
Written by Sam Blakelock
Updated over a week ago

The blues scale is a six note scale commonly used in – you guessed it – blues soloing.

The blues scale is identical to a minor pentatonic with the exception of an added flatted fifth, known as the "blue note."

Example: A blues scale – A C D Eb E G

Refer to Seth Rosenbloom’s Intro to Blues Master Class for more

Did this answer your question?