Three-note chords built from a root note, third, and fifth

Sam Blakelock avatar
Written by Sam Blakelock
Updated over a week ago

Triads are three-note chords built with a root note, third interval, and fifth interval. They’re constructed using tertian harmony, meaning all the notes are stacked in thirds.

There are four different types of triads:

Major: 1, 3, 5
Minor: 1, b3, 5
Augmented: 1, 3, #5
Diminished: 1, b3, b5

Did this answer your question?